Egyptian Ritual of Judgement

I have come unto you; I have committed not faults; I have not sinned; I have done no evil; I have accused no man falsely; therefore let nothing be done against me. I live in right and truth. That which men have bidden I have done, and the gods are satisfied there-at. I have pacified the god for I have done his will. I have given bread unto the hungry and water unto those who thirst, clothing unto the naked, and a boat unto the shipwrecked mariner. I have made holy offerings unto the gods; and I have given meals of the tomb to the sainted dead. O, then, deliver ye me, and protect me; accuse me not before the great god. I ma pure of mouth, and I am pure of hands…

I offer up prayers in the presence of the gods, knowing that which concerneth them. I have come forward to make a declaration of right and truth, and to place the balance upon its supports within the groves of amaranth. Hail, thou who art exalted upon thy resting place, thou lord of the atef crown, who declarest thy name as the lord of the winds, deliver thou me from thine angels of destruction, who make dire deeds to happen and calamities to arise, and who have no covering upon their faces, because I have done right and truth, O thou Lord of right and truth. I am pure, in my foreparts I have been made clean, and in my hinder parts  have I been purified, my reins have been bathed in the Pool of right and truth, and no member of my body was wanting. I have been purified in the pool of the south…

from The Book of the Dead

Leave a Reply

